πŸ“– Attendees & Groups

Groups: Networking Gating

Learn how to use networking rules per ticket type, for attendees and sponsors. And control which user groups can meet each other.

To be covered: 

Intro

With networking rules, you can offer unique attendee experiences by enabling or disabling the networking features per ticket group for virtual, in-person, and hybrid events in Brella.

To do that, go to People > Groups > Select a Group > Networking. 

Event organizers can control the number of meeting requests attendees and sponsors are allowed to send. However, please note that:
  • Open chat can’t be gated
  • Users (Attendees & Sponsors) can accept any number of incoming meeting requests regardless of any organizer set limits

Similarly, organizers can control which groups can meet each other. Say you want VIP attendees or Sponsors to be able to send meeting requests to all attendees while attendees can only send 3 meetings to other attendees.

  • Event organizers can control which user groups can network with each other β€” allowing a brand new world of monetization options and control over the networking process, especially for VIPs and sponsors.
  • Attendees in any affected user groups will not be able to send open chats and meeting requests to any attendees outside of any user groups that they are allowed to network with.

 How to Enable Networking Rules?

❗Before using the networking rules, you need to segment your audience per group.

  1. Then to enable it, go to the Admin Panel.
  2. Navigate to People > Groups > Select the user group you want to work with and click Edit.
  3. Turn the networking green toggle on or off.
    1. If turned on, participants will be able to network with other attendees at the event. This includes seeing the list of attendees, chatting, and scheduling 1:1 meetings.
    2. If turned off, participants will not be able to network. They will have access to the event platform but not to the networking features.
  4. Define the number of meeting requests that users can send out to others. See below πŸ‘‡

πŸ’‘ It's essential to mention that we recommend making this change before the event starts. When disabled, members of this ticket type will not be able to interact with others.

Whenever editing this feature, attendees will be notified and granted or blocked access to all networking features. See more on How participants interact with networking rules?

Define which other user groups a particular user group can chat and network with

For each user group, event organizers can decide to enable the β€œEligible groups” option. This can be set to:

  • Anyone (networking is allowed with any attendee)
  • No one (networking requests can’t be sent to anyone / they can only be received from other groups)
  • Specific groups (meeting and open chat requests can be sent to the specified groups only β€” requests from unapproved groups can still be received and accepted)

On the Web App: Attendees can only initiate chat and meeting requests with members from eligible user groups

The β€œBest matches” sub-tab in the β€œPeople” tab will only show eligible matches.

 
The β€œAll attendees” sub-tab in the β€œPeople” tab will show all attendees β€” however, attendees from ineligible user groups will have the β€œConnect” button greyed out.
 

Where can Attendees and sponsors see their ticket type and remaining meeting requests?

Each attendee/sponsor can view their remaining meeting requests in the header of the Brella app they are using.

Opening up the β€œMeeting Requests” modal will show the ticket type, along with information on how this feature works.

 

"Meeting Requests remaining" explained

This function relates to meetings that you can request at the event. Other participants can send you multiple meeting requests according to your networking availability. In other words,

  • If you have a ticket with a limited number of meeting requests to send, you will see the remaining meeting requests on the header side of the Brella app. Reference image below.
  • If you have a ticket that has an unlimited number of meeting requests to send, you will see no such indicator.
  • For instance, if you send 5/5 meetings and you receive 2 meeting requests from other participants, and you accept, then you’ll have 7 meetings.

The list of meeting requests you send will be enlisted when clicking on "Meeting Requests Remaining," while all of your meetings can be found on the Schedule tab regardless of their status. 

πŸ”‘ Note: If a meeting is canceled (either while it is pending or after it has been accepted), that request will be returned to the initiating user's meeting quota. So, if you have a 5 meetings limit and already had 3 meetings accepted, you have two free meetings to send. If one meeting gets canceled, your quota goes back to 3/5.

You can read more about what "Meeting Requests Remaining" means here.

Attendees & sponsors can cancel pending requests, cancel and reschedule accepted meetings or accept reschedule requests from meeting partners.

 

How to use (video)
 

 

Note:  It's essential to mention that we recommend making this change before the event starts. Whenever editing this feature, attendees will be notified and granted or blocked access to all networking features. See more on How participants interact with networking rules?

 


Last updated in June 2022.

Written by Sophia DiPaola

If you didn't find an answer to your questions, please get in touch with the Support Team here.

πŸ‘‡